Northern Finance Association Conference 2018
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, September 21-23, 2018
Charlevoix, Quebec

The Northern Finance Association is pleased to invite submissions for its 30th Annual Conference, to be held on September 21-23, 2018, at the Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu in Charlevoix, Quebec’s top tourist destination. Papers on any topic related to finance will be considered, as long as they have not already been accepted for publication in a journal. Each author is restricted to one submission.

Papers should be submitted electronically at

The deadline for submissions is March 23, 2018, at 11:59 pm (23:59 hrs) Eastern Time.

Papers will be reviewed anonymously by up to three members of the Program Committee, and authors will be notified about the outcome of the review process, by mid-May 2018. We are working to maximize participation opportunities in the conference, so presenting authors of accepted papers will generally not be asked to discuss papers. Instead, discussants and session chairs will be selected from our list of NFA contacts, which includes 5-year NFA members, Program Committee members, co-authors of accepted papers, and past presenters. If you would like to become a member of the Program Committee or serve as discussant/session chair, please contact us at

Conference registration will open on May 10, 2018 and the early registration will end on June 15, 2018. Authors must be registered by the early registration date in order to be eligible for paper awards. Details about conference registration can be found here and hotel booking details are available here.

Keynote Speaker:

Pierre Collin-Dufresne
SFI Senior Chair
Professor of Finance
Swiss Finance Institute at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)

PhD Students Session Chairs:

Burton Hollifield
PNC Professor of Financial Economics
Tepper School of Business
Carnegie Mellon University


Susan Christoffersen
William A. Downe BMO Chair in Finance
Rotman School of Management
University of Toronto

Sessions for PhD students

Papers authored exclusively by PhD students may be submitted using the standard submission procedure. Such papers should be marked “Student Paper” along with a comment requesting that the paper be considered for the PhD Sessions, which will be held on Friday afternoon, if they aren’t selected for the regular program. Our PhD Session Chairs will select papers from this group, and assign discussants who will provide constructive criticism and ideas to enhance the papers during the PhD Session.

Special Session for Assistant Professors

The conference will include a special session for assistant professors on Friday afternoon.

Michael Brennan
Professor Emeritus
Anderson School of Management
University of California, Los Angeles

2017 Sponsors (2018 sponsors to be confirmed)

Royal Bank of Canada (confirmed for 2018)
Bank of Canada (confirmed for 2018)
CFA Society Atlantic Canada
Stata (confirmed for 2018)
Canadian Securities Institute Research Foundation
Montreal Institute of Structured Products (IFSID) (confirmed for 2018)
The Marquee Group
NEO Exchange

Please see the conference website,, for an up-to-date list of award sponsors.

Past Exhibitors (2018 exhibitors to be confirmed):

Ivey Publishing
Rotman Interactive Trader (confirmed for 2018)
S&P Global
StockTrak (confirmed for 2018)

Planned Best Paper Awards:

Best PhD paper (Bank of Canada, confirmed for 2018)
Corporate Finance/Responsible Finance (Desjardins, confirmed for 2018)
Derivatives (IFSID, confirmed for 2018)
FinTech (Ivey Scotiabank Digital Banking Lab, confirmed for 2018)
Firm Growth and Innovation (Lazaridis Institute, confirmed for 2018)
Market Microstructure ( sponsored by IIROC in 2017)
Fund Management (sponsored by NEO in 2017)
Asset Pricing
Empirical Finance

We hope to see you in Charlevoix next September for a stimulating conference and some Quebec hospitality!

Francesca Carrieri & Jan Ericsson

(McGill University Desautels Faculty of Management)
NFA 2018 Program Co-Chairs