The Northern Finance Association’s 2017 Annual Conference was held on September 15-17, 2017 in Halifax, Nova Scotia. The program’s co-chairs were Murray Carlson and Maria Pacurar.


Best Paper on Derivatives

Award sponsored by Montreal Institute of Structured Finance and Derivatives (IFSID)
Extracting Latent States from High Frequency Option Prices
Diego Amaya (Wilfrid Laurier University), Jean-Francois Begin (Simon Fraser University), and Genevieve Gauthier (HEC Montreal)

Best Paper on Fintech

Award sponsored by Scotiabank Digital Banking Lab at Ivey Business School
Syndicated Equity Crowdfunding: The Trade-Off between Deal Access and Conflicts of Interest
Olga Itenberg (University of Rochester) and Erin Smith (University of Rochester)

Best Paper on Firm Growth and Innovation

Award sponsored by Lazaridis School of Business and Economics
Do Technology Spillovers Affect Corporate Financial Policies?
Ambrus Kecskes (Schulich School of Business at York University) and Phuong-Anh Nguyen (Schulich School of Business at York University)

Best Paper on Fund Management

Award sponsored by NEO
Market Accessibility, Corporate Bond ETFs, Liquidity
Jayoung Nam (Indiana University)

Best Paper on Market Microstructure

Award sponsored by Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC)
Inverted Fee Venues and Market Quality
Carole Comerton-Forde (University of Melbourne), Vincent Gregoire (University of Melbourne), and Zhuo Zhong (University of Melbourne)

Best PhD Paper

Award sponsored by The Bank of Canada
Creditor Rights and Productivity: Evidence from Plant-Level Data
Nuri Ersahin (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)